Friday, 24 November 2017

Road Train.

It's very wise to pull over and let these fellas pass as they are often cruising at fairly fast speeds, and as you can see the road is not very wide.


Wednesday, 22 November 2017

A Jabiru.

Interesting looking birds.

Monday, 20 November 2017

A Pup.

I like the way the pup appeared not to be interested, but was definitely keeping an eye on things.

Saturday, 18 November 2017

Pelican Landing.

I love watching these birds, they're not exactly graceful.

Friday, 17 November 2017

Outback Rodeo 3.

This fella ended up face planting and missing the calf. I have a series of photos way back on this site.

Wednesday, 15 November 2017

Pelican Lunch.

This fella had just swallowed quite a large whole fish and was just moving it around to swallow.

Monday, 13 November 2017

Fox On The Run.

It was unusual to see a fox during the day and with people around.

Saturday, 11 November 2017

Alpine Valley.

This is in the Snowy Mountains in NSW. You can see how large it is by the size of the vehicles in the distance.

Thursday, 9 November 2017

Flying Jabiru.

They are tall, gangly birds, that I've seen very few of, and never in pairs.

Wednesday, 8 November 2017

Molasses Run.

There was around 10,000 litres in the tanker being delivered to a farmers stock to help feed them during the drought. There had been no wet season for 3 years at this stage, and you can see the state of the ground.

Monday, 6 November 2017

Very Wet Lorikeet.

The wetter they became, the noisier they got, and they absolutely loved it.

Sunday, 5 November 2017

Sunbird Nest.

You can see the size of the bird by the decorative lights next to the nest.  More here.

Saturday, 4 November 2017

Wet Season Road.

This was the road to our fishing spot in north Queensland.

Thursday, 2 November 2017

Dawn, NSW.

I love the beautiful morning light and the colours in Australia.

Wednesday, 1 November 2017

Kingfisher.

I have never been able to capture a nice shiny, electric looking kingfisher.

Monday, 30 October 2017

Outback Cattlemen.

These are some tough, resourceful, hard working gentlemen who enjoy catching up with their neighbours who are often 100 or more kilometres away.

Saturday, 28 October 2017

Corella.

These beauties are often mistaken for the yellow crested cockatoos, but are just as noisy.

Thursday, 26 October 2017

Water Dish Frog.

The cat was a little miffed he had to share the water with the tree frog.

Wednesday, 25 October 2017

Outback Rodeo 2.

There's a lot of skill involved with using a lasso, and it comes in handy when it's time to muster their cattle in the outback.

Monday, 23 October 2017

Outback Rodeo1.

Great afternoon and it was interesting watching the skill of the riders.

Sunday, 22 October 2017

Tropical Rain.

So much water and so warm.

Saturday, 21 October 2017

A Few Puppies.

These delightful pups looked as if they were looking for ways to escape the ute and into some trouble.

Thursday, 19 October 2017

Tuesday, 17 October 2017

Breakfast For Wedgetail Eagle.

I was about 80m away, and so delighted to have come across this beautiful bird.

Sunday, 15 October 2017

Emu Gathering.

It was late afternoon and we were heading home when we came across this lot.

Friday, 13 October 2017

Black Cockatoos.

Unfortunately I was unable to get any closer, they don't hang around when they see or hear humans.


Wednesday, 11 October 2017

Lorikeet Couple.

Lorikeets are very affectionate, very entertaining and extremely noisy.

Monday, 9 October 2017

Shocked Noisy Miner.

I love the expressions of both these birds. The smaller one was flapping around frantically trying to get out of the dish.

Friday, 6 October 2017

Outback Dreams.

This is a photo I took a few years ago when I was working in the outback. I'm sure this place has had some interesting times.

Tuesday, 3 October 2017

Calf Stopper.

Kids do come in handy when you want the calves to stay put while picking up the next one.

Sunday, 1 October 2017

Patchwork Wall.

Good old corrugated iron, comes in handy for all sorts of things.

Friday, 29 September 2017

Oi! You!

Come an' play ...........

Wednesday, 27 September 2017

Lockhart.

This was taken a couple of years ago flying into Lockhart, on Cape York, North Queensland.

Monday, 25 September 2017

Not Gloria's Friend.

This ewe stands at the fence and bleats, so much so it could be called harassment. Gloria doesn't get a look in if there's a slice of bread in sight.


Saturday, 23 September 2017

Triple Trouble.

Enjoying some rare sunshine before the next burst of energy.


Thursday, 21 September 2017

Tuesday, 19 September 2017

The Hay Shed.

Not a lot left at present as some was moved out so the calves could be housed there until big enough to be moved to greener pasture.

Sunday, 17 September 2017

Waxeye.

I was about 20m away and hiding behind the front door. They are beautiful and are quick to take off.

Friday, 15 September 2017

The Other Cat.

This fella finely relaxed long enough for me to take this photo.

Tuesday, 12 September 2017

Shed Shelf.

Essential stuff in the milking shed.

Sunday, 10 September 2017

The Rooster.

Such a beautiful fella, very confident and he does look after his two ladies well.

Friday, 8 September 2017

The Old House.

This house has been standing for a very long time, and I'm sure there is quite a history attached.

Wednesday, 6 September 2017

Yum .... Milk.

Such messy fellas ........

Tuesday, 5 September 2017

Tolerant Ewe.

The lamb was like this for ages, they both fell asleep at one stage.

Sunday, 3 September 2017

Dried Hebe.

These are lovely plants when in flower.

Friday, 1 September 2017

A Fence.

I do like old fences.

Thursday, 31 August 2017

Cat Portrait.

The feral kitten has become a little friendlier of late.

Tuesday, 29 August 2017

Lamb Gang.

Great time wasters ..... lambs when they discover each other and boy can they run. I was about 120m away.

Sunday, 27 August 2017

Honeycomb.

Fascinating, and an example of how amazing nature is.

Thursday, 24 August 2017

Well Weathered.

The door to a very old cupboard.